Industry Leadership

Metals and Mining Industry Leaders

Without minerals and metals, the modern world would come to a standstill. Doe Run’s minerals and recycled lead are at the core of the world’s infrastructure, transportation and energy storage.

The long-term viability of our industries is critical to our communities, vendors and customers. We collaborate with other battery recycling and mining industry leaders to plan for the future of our products. Doe Run’s own mining industry leaders share their expertise through presentations and publications. View recent presentations and publications.

Battery Council International

Battery Council International (BCI) increases awareness about the important role lead batteries play in our world. BCI promotes public education about the importance of lead in powering our daily lives, new innovations for meeting future lead battery demand, and the environmental success of battery recycling. Battery recycling separates the lead, plastics and other materials within lead batteries, then repurposes those back into use as new batteries or other products. Modern, closed-loop battery recycling keeps 130 million lead batteries from landfills each year. Visit BCI to learn more.

Consortium of Battery Innovation (CBI)

CBI (formerly ALABC) is a collaboration of lead producers, battery manufacturers, battery recycling companies, equipment suppliers and research institutions. The international research organization improves lead battery technology for a variety of energy storage applications. Doe Run was a founding member.

American Tin Trade Association (ATTA)

ATTA’s primary purpose is to promote the best interests of those engaged in the production, distribution, transportation, consumption, purchase and sale of pig tin. The association also serves as an active forum through which pertinent issues of the tin trade are discussed. Lou Magdits, vice president – sales and marketing, serves on the board of ATTA.

Associated Industries of Missouri (AIM)

AIM is the oldest general business trade association in Missouri. They provide legislative advocacy, seminars and networking events that encourage a pro-business environment. Michael Montgomery, vice president – environmental, health and safety serves on the AIM Board.

Battery Council International (BCI)
International Lead Association (ILA)

ILA is dedicated to serving lead producers and other companies related to lead and its use. ILA provides a range of services to support the safe production, use and recycling of lead. Doe Run is one of 40 member companies involved in the mining, smelting, refining and recycling of lead.

International Lead and Zinc Study Group (ILZSG)

ILZSG was formed by the United Nations to provide information on the supply, demand and international trade of lead and zinc. Doe Run’s zinc mining industry leaders often attend and present on industry trends at the annual conference as representatives of the United States International Trade Commission.

International Zinc Association (IZA)

IZA is the only global industry association dedicated exclusively to the interests of zinc and its users, helping to sustain the long-term global demand for zinc.

Mineral Education Coalition (MEC)

MEC educates teachers and students about mineral and energy resources, the important role they play and how the industry sustains environmentally and socially responsible production.

Mining & Metallurgical Society of America (MMSA)

The Mining and Metallurgical Society of America (MMSA) is a professional organization dedicated to increasing public awareness and understanding about mining and why mined materials are essential to modern society and human well-being.

Missouri Energy Initiative

The Missouri Energy Initiative is a nonpartisan, nonprofit association of public and private-sector entities working together to increase energy economic development, innovation, and education throughout the state. MEI serves as an independent public policy group on emerging energy issues, encourages creative collaborations and promotes affordable, reliable and sustainable energy efforts.

Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T)

Several Doe Run leaders and employees support Missouri S&T on departmental advisory boards, strategic committees and in the Mines and Metallurgical Academy.

National Mining Association (NMA)

NMA is the only national trade organization that represents the interests of the mining industry to the White House, the U.S. Congress, federal agencies, the judiciary and the media. NMA has repeatedly recognized Doe Run for outstanding achievements in mine safety, awarding the company the prestigious Sentinels of Safety award 28 times since 1971.

The London Metal Exchange (LME).

LME has been the world centre since 1877 for the trading of industrial metals.

The Regulatory Environmental Group for Missouri (REGFORM).

REGFORM is is the premier statewide business organization working on environmental policy in Missouri. Michael Montgomery, vice president – environmental, health and safety serves on the executive committee.

The Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration Inc. (SME)

SME is a professional society including engineers, geologists, metallurgists, educators, students and researchers.

Women in the Global Battery Industry

Industry News

Back to top