ST. LOUIS (May 05, 2022) – The Doe Run Company (Doe Run) is providing a scholarship to the Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) 2022 Explosives Camp taking place this summer. High school students will get the chance to learn about the safe handling and shooting of explosives and how explosives are used in different industries.

Doe Run’s scholarship will cover the full $1,450 cost and is available to students who will be in high school in fall 2022.

“Fun learning opportunities like this can spark a student’s interest in a future career in mining or engineering,” said Brian Mangogna, vice president – mining and milling at Doe Run. “Explosives Camp gives students insights into the many job prospects available and teaches them early on about how to use explosives safely – which is critical in the mining industry.”

The camp provides an introduction to the Missouri S&T Explosives Program and careers in explosives and gives students hands-on learning about explosives blasting in mining, display fireworks, and demolition, as well as pyrotechnics and special effects. They will have projects and activities, including field trips to learn about underground blasting and surface blasting, and tour a pyrotechnics facility.

There will be two sessions of the 2022 Explosives Camp: June 5 – 10 and June 12 – 17. Students must apply for the Explosives Camp online by May 20. Learn more about the Explosives Camp here.

About The Doe Run Company
Based in St. Louis, Missouri, USA, The Doe Run Company is a privately held natural resources company and a global provider of lead, copper and zinc concentrates. Dedicated to environmentally responsible mineral and metal production, Doe Run operates one of the world’s largest, single-site lead recycling centers, located in Boss, Missouri, and mines from one of the world’s largest lead mining districts, also in Missouri. The Doe Run Company and its subsidiaries deliver products and services necessary to provide power, protection and convenience. Doe Run has operations in Missouri, Washington and Arizona. For more information, visit